Karin Eckstein - Bandoneon

Karin Eckstein plays the 142tone bandoneon, the authentic instrument of the Argentinian Tango.

After studying music (piano and organ) she studied the bandoneon with Peter Reil (Berlin).

She subsequently undertook six years of studies at the conservatory of Gennevilliers / Paris with one of the world’s most famous bandoneon-players, Juan José Mosalini. In 2003 she passed her examination with distinction.

Her wide repertoire covers traditional Argentinian tango, Tango Nuevo and contemporary music as well as jazz. Her studies in Paris have enabled her to present the major works written for bandoneon solo.

The development of the Tango after Piazzolla is also an important aspect of Karin Eckstein’s artistic career. Therefore she works as a composer and an arranger. Since 2018 she has studied composition with Exequiel Mantega (Buenos Aires), one of the leading artists of the younger generation in Buenos Aires.

Various journeys to Buenos Aires and other cities in Argentina and Uruguay have brought her into contact with legendary bandoneon-players and the roots of Argentinian music. She is a member of various tango groups and performs regularly in concerts and milongas, amongst others with guests from Argentina and Uruguay (see Ensembles).

She performs as bandoneon soloist in famous works such as Piazzolla’s “Aconcagua – concerto for bandoneon and orchestra” and “Misa a Buenos Aires – Misa Tango” by Martín Palmeri.

She performed as the bandoneon soloist in Piazzolla’s “Maria de Buenos Aires” at several theatres such as the „Staatstheater Wiesbaden“ and the „Stadttheater Konstanz. She has also taken part in various Films and TV-productions.

A further aspect of her musical work is focused on the possibilities of the bandoneon-sound in other genres.

Repertoire:

Traditional Tango Argentino: Argentinian Tangos, Milongas und Valses from the Guardia Vieja to Tango Nuevo

Arrangements for Bandoneon solo by Leopoldo Federico, Julio Pane, Daniel Binelli, Nestor Marconi etc.

Solo Repertoire:

Astor Piazzolla:
Aconcagua – Concerto for Bandoneon and Orchestra
Maria de Buenos Aires
The four seasons (Cuatro Estaciones)
Four Tango sensations
Oblivion / Libertango etc.

Martín Palmeri:
Misa a Buenos Aires (Misa Tango)
Magnificat
Genesis: The first book of Moses
Sobre las estaciones

Luis Bacalov:
Misa Tango
Soundtrack of “Il Postino” (The Postman)

Kurt Weill:
Die Dreigroschenoper (The Threepenny Opera)
Mahagonny
Kleine Dreigroschenmusik (Suite from „Die Dreigroschenoper“ arranged for wind orchestra by Weill)

Karin Eckstein - Bandoneon

Karin Eckstein spielt das 142tönige wechseltönige Bandoneon, das authentische Instrument des Tango Argentino.

Nach erfolgreich abgeschlossenem Musikstudium (Klavier und Kirchenorgel) nahm sie Bandoneon-Unterricht bei Peter Reil (Berlin). Danach studierte sie sechs Jahre bei einem der Großen des Bandoneons, Maestro Juan José Mosalini, am Konservatorium von Gennevilliers / Paris und legte im Juni 2003 ihr Examen mit Auszeichnung ab.

Mehrere Aufenthalte in Buenos Aires und anderen Städten Argentiniens und der damit verbundene nähere Kontakt mit legendären Bandoneonspielern vertieften ihr Verständnis der argentinischen Musik und ihrer Wurzeln.

Ihr vielseitiges Können ermöglicht ihr ein breitgefächertes Spektrum vom traditionellen tanzbaren Tango über den Tango Nuevo zur zeitgenössischen Musik. Zudem legten ihre Studien in Paris die Grundlage für ein großes Repertoire an Arrangements für das Bandoneon als Soloinstrument.

Als Komponistin und Arrangeurin ist für sie die Weiterentwicklung des Tangos ein wesentlicher Bereich ihres künstlerischen Schaffens. Seit 2018 nimmt sie Kompositionsunterricht bei Exequiel Mantega, einem der führenden Tangokomponisten der jüngeren Generation.

Sie spielt in wechselnden Besetzungen mit verschiedenen Tangogruppen und tritt regelmäßig, auch mit Gastmusikern aus Argentinien und Uruguay, konzertant und im Rahmen von Tangobällen auf (s. Ensembles).

Als Solo-Bandoneonistin in Astor Piazzollas „Maria de Buenos Aires“ gastierte sie an mehreren Theatern wie z.B. dem Staatstheater Wiesbaden und dem Stadttheater Konstanz. Außerdem wirkte sie in mehreren Fernsehproduktionen mit.

Die musikalischen Möglichkeiten des Bandoneons in anderen Stilrichtungen bilden einen weiteren Schwerpunkt ihrer Arbeit.

Repertoire:

Argentinische Tangos, Milongas und Valses von der Guardia Vieja bis zum Tango Nuevo
Arrangements für Bandoneon solo von Leopoldo Federico, Julio Pane, Daniel Binelli, Nestor Marconi u.a.

Solistenrepertoire:

Astor Piazzolla:
Aconcagua – Konzert für Bandoneon und Orchester
Maria de Buenos Aires
Die vier Jahreszeiten (Cuatro Estaciones)
Four Tango sensations
Oblivion / Libertango u.a.

Martín Palmeri:
Misa a Buenos Aires (Misa Tango)
Magnificat
Genesis – Das erste Buch Mose
Sobre las estaciones

Luis Bacalov:
Misa Tango
Filmmusik zu “Il Postino”

Kurt Weill:
Die Dreigroschenoper
Mahagonny
Kleine Dreigroschenmusik